Wednesday, April 14, 2010

FFFreakout #208 "Record Store Day Rundown" (Aired on 4/8/10)

The Mountain Goats - "Letter From Belgium"
Sonic Youth - "Shadow of a Doubt"
Built to Spill - "Car"
John Fahey - "The Yellow Princess"
Moby Grape - "Motorcycle Irene"
Tom Waits - "Chocolate Jesus"
Magnetic Fields - "I Think I Need a New Heart"
Wilco - "Jesus, Etc." (live)
John Lennon - "It's So Hard"
Charles Wright & The Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band - "Express Yourself"
Band of Skulls - "Death by Diamonds"
Mississippi John Hurt - "Make Me a Pallet on the Floor"
The Rolling Stones - "All Down the Line"
Yeah Yeah Yeahs - "Skeletons"

Today, we chatted up and spun music off of a bunch of the releases that will be exclusive to independent record stores on Record Store Day, which is this Saturday. Locally, Tune Town will have a fair amount of these releases, but come early as some are ultra-limited. Check out the Record Store Day website for a complete list of the releases available and for other participating stores. Unlike downloading, there's always the possibility of a scene like this (generally more inclusive though):

No comments: